Jonathan Solorio
4 min readSep 23, 2024

--

“Deception” Part 1 of 7

Let me tell you a story of unexpected betrayal. It happened to me last Halloween. And like all stories involving unexpected betrayal, it involves a pretty girl, a trusting fool, and something they never saw coming.

There was this girl I’d been seeing for a couple of weeks named Crystal. I thought that she was just a hippie-chick, but I came to learn that she was also a practicing Wiccan. I’d recently started a new diet, so maybe it was because I was a little light-headed from low-blood sugar, but I found that part particularly interesting. Although it could also just have been her amazing breasts. Either way, I’d have put up with quite a lot to get biblical with her, if you get my drift. So, when she said that she wanted me to meet the rest of her coven, I licked my lips as I considered all of the possibilities of me and a half dozen women who if they were anything like her, would have made for a very satisfying All Hallow’s Eve.

That night, we met up at the coffee shop where we’d met those couple weeks back. I had gone in to get a mocha before work, and she was hanging some flyer on the board for her Wiccan circle. I think they were looking for new members or something. But in that lowcut top, the flier was the last thing I noticed.

There was an instant electricity between us. It seemed that we were hungry for the same things. As I deftly inspected her cleavage…

--

--

Jonathan Solorio

I'm a baccalaureate of English from UC Berkeley with a minor in Creative Writing. I wrote and performed spoken word poetry for 15 years.