5 Best books to read about programming

Julian Edlund
3 min readAug 7, 2022
  1. The Pragmatic Programmer by David Thomas and Andrew Hunt

This book is a great resource for learning how to be a better programmer. It covers topics such as how to choose the right tools, how to design for change, and how to debug and optimize code. This book helped me so much in my career by teaching me how to be a better programmer.

2. Clean Code by Robert C. Martin

This book is a great resource for learning how to write clean and maintainable code. It covers topics such as how to choose meaningful names, how to format code for readability, and how to write unit tests. This book helped me so much in my career by teaching me how to write better code.

3. The Mythical Man-Month by Frederick P. Brooks

This book is a great resource for learning about software project management. It covers topics such as how to estimate project schedules, how to manage changes to requirements, and how to deal with project risks. This book helped me so much in my career by teaching me how to better manage software projects.

4. Design Patterns by the Gang of Four

This book is a great resource for learning about software design patterns. It covers topics such as how to use design patterns to solve common design problems, how to choose the right design pattern for a given problem, and how to implement design patterns in code. This book helped me so much in my career by teaching me how to design better software.

5. Code Complete by Steve McConnell

This book is a great resource for learning about software development best practices. It covers topics such as how to design for testability, how to refactor code for readability, and how to optimize code for performance. This book helped me so much in my career by teaching me how to write better code.

Affiliate Notice

This post may contain links to affiliate websites, and we receive an affiliate commission for any purchases made by you on this blog post.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn advertising fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated websites.

--

--

Julian Edlund

Julian Edland is a programmer interested in software engineering, software architecture and automated testing. He enjoys writing about his programming projects