Our mental health bank account

joaene
5 min readJan 9, 2020

--

Management Today by Nick Shepherd

To be honest, I got pretty tired of reading articles about psychology and new diecoveries regarding the new generations, how social media affects us, why we fucked up big time on so many things. It got boring because I see them everyday. When it’s not an article writen by a magazine who has very few facts presented in their publications, it’s some vlogger/blogger who has all of a sudden become a life coach. Yes, call me a grinch or the modern-day term “hater”, but I am tired. With each and every year’s new resolutions, planning goals and tasks, challenges and changes, do’a and don’t’s, I am simply exhausted of how much of a psychological dark twist this has. We’ve been served a whole plate of bullshit throughout our childhood to now be accused of being lazy, not working enough, not making enough and so on. And all of this, all of this chaos has absolutely no other goals that emphasise the power of success, money and social recognition. But if I’m much a hater, imma be a hater all the way: our mental health bank account is slowly getting emptied.

The mental health is the base of everything we do ever since we are babies. The state of mind – mindset – stress level – good vibes that the mom has during her pregnancy is the main factor that will help you develop during the process of shapeshifting from an embryo to a full baby. My aunt got pregnant almost 9 years ago and the level of stress was so bad, the baby died after the first session of heart-listening. And she is not the first woman I know that has been through this. At kindergarden we start learning about competitive behaviour and to me, I got so stressed over drawing and looks, I didn’t even realize how bad of an impact it was until I reached my 20s.

The way we eat has become a subject of discussion, a discussion where people have shown some of their worst and ugliest skills of judment. If you’re a vegetarian you suck, and if you eat fast food you’re gonna end up the fat one everyone’s gonna laugh at. If you’re too fit, you’re doing it for the looks and attention and if you’re not fit, well, you don’t fit into the category of nowadays defition of beautiful and sexy.

The work field, in my opinion, is the worst. Yes, I admire the so many entrepreneurs that changes their lives and are now helping change other people’s life, but on a micromanagement level of the entire population, the mean side is the prioritar way within a schedule of cooperation at work. We became so entitled to know and do everything, we are passing on agression and judgement, we’re critical without being self-critics and we’re so jealous, so tired and low-energized because we would rather work on terms that we consider to be ok instead of approaching a self-dialogue and take the time to put the money and the ego into a bank transfer into the account of “take a break”.

I wish I was a cold hearted person and just be lazy sometimes, because apparently, kissing a** and not sharing how much you can actually give, gives you a more privileged position.

This is what I said exactly 2 years ago, when a dear friend of mine told me I have absolutely no ingredient to qualify me for that. Yet, at times I found myself not perfoming how I wanted to, not feeling focused enough and not doing all the things that I wanted to do, and that wasn’t because I couldn’t or I didn’t want to, but because I didn’t say no and I always said yes – to others.

This year, more thab half of my friends told me they are dealing with anxiety, depression or confusion. We were told we are the generation that complains most, yet has so much of a better life than our parents, grandparents and the entire family tree, yet we are the most abused, mentally, physically and sexually. We’re not allowed to complain, not obey and not work 24/7 because people misunderstand Gary Vee. We’re spending too much time on our phones because we’re sick of our normal lifestyles, not because it’s not ok, but because we refuse to make it ok. We judge what social media did to us, but we’re not that eagerly determined to leave the phone, and instead of talking about this, we should start not leaving the phone, but use it wisely.

We all dream. We all want. And we all want to feel better with ourselves by helping and lending a hand. But supporting Greta Thunberg instead of taking 1–2h / 2–3 times per week to actually learn how to lead by example in areas that don’t involved only our bubble of schedules, and think outside the box on which we are typing and scrolling everyday, to find a solution to be better for ourselves and the ones around us instead of finding the fuel for the ego and the conflict from inside that has an impact on our conversation with one another, a fuel in the higher-level problems. You hate the climate change – don’t read the above articles, but remember the iceberg that has a much deeper consistency, texture, it’s more solid underneath – see above the media and the marketing and learn about the problems for which you might have a solution through your own lead. On a micro level, then on a medium level and then climb on the tip of the iceberg and place a “snowflake”.

Associate yourself with what you want, who you are, what works best for you. It’s not selfish, it’s healthy. Because no matter how much money, likes, wasted night, jokes, people you might think you have in your bank account, the only one that matters is uncountable. Your mental health.

--

--