Words (un)Spoken| Facing Me

Jones
2 min readSep 21, 2019

Isaiah 41:10 New International Version (NIV)

10 So do not fear, for I am with you;

do not be dismayed, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you and help you;

I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

The song that accompanies this piece is linked here

Facing Me

Pain is just a lack of understanding.

In this season of reflection,

I’ve encountered my greatest fear:

my humanity.

It always followed behind.

While I stood in the light,

his intangible figure loomed.

Watching. Waiting.

An entity materialized

brittled. broken. burdened.

Pain chiseled into its visage.

Motionless and cold.

i’m left to deal with this shadow alone-

“Who am I to you?”

Shadow is anxiety. guilt. doubt. confusion.

Trapped in a sunken state of mind,

my body is overtaken by its rage.

Total warfare against my being.

Shadow is an abandoned spirit of

unbridled imperfections that

stain and distort my vision.

The metaphysical manifestation of

Failure.

i’m left to deal with this shadow alone-

“Look through my eyes”

Tears like heavy rain unsuppressed

flood down its face.

There are only wails of pain without resolution

in this reimagined reality.

The figure’s image is clearer-

it’s me…

“Dismantle this facade and accepts what happens behind closed doors.

The fact that everything does not follow a blueprint

You were meant to fail and cannot do it alone.

Embrace what has been with you all along.”

An unforeseen reunion of

an empty vessel and neglected spirit.

We are one.

Abba, Father,

I feel broken.

Empty.

I embrace my pain and plead for relief,

guidance and sanity.

“Do not be afraid, for God is with you

He will strengthen you;

help you;

and hold you.”

Pain is just a lack of understanding.

In this season of reflection,

I’ve encountered my greatest fear:

my humanity.

But now, I find myself back with you.

Now I am facing me.

--

--

Jones

I write for me; yet, I pray that something from this will speak to you. We are all actors on the same stage.