The Death of The Red Hare

Joanna
3 min readDec 30, 2023

--

Here I want to share a fictional story about the Red Hare in Three Kingdoms period, which was created by JIANG Xinjie in 2001.

The Red Hare or Chi-Tu was the name of a horse, but not every horse was like Chi-Tu, which was the most powerful and capable one among steeds.

In CE 221, Chi-Tu’s master General GUAN Yu was captured following his defeat. Refusing to surrender, General GUAN was executed by SUN Quan, and his warhorse Chi-Tu was bestowed by SUN upon MA Zhong.

One day, MA reported to SUN that Chi-Tu had refused to have any food for days and would die soon. Shocked by the news, SUN immediately commanded BO Xi to check, who was well-known for mastery of horse language.

When BO arrived, he saw Chi-Tu lying on the ground and whining nonstop. BO dismissed the crowd, and sighed, “It is said that the lifelong ambition of a strong horse is running miles by miles. I deeply understand your impulse to follow General GUAN by death. However, when your former master LV Bu was executed, you didn’t show such attachment. Now you are giving up your life. Doesn’t it go against your ambition?”

Chi-Tu sighed, “I feel privileged to meet you. Let me share with you a few sincere words. I was born in the west of Liangzhou and was later seized by DONG Zhuo, an arrogant and domineering warlord who killed the young emperor and usurped the power. I had a profound hatred of this evil rebel.”

BO nodded and said, “I heard about that, DONG later bestowed you upon LV Bu, a general with astonishing prowess. Shouldn’t General LV be a perfect match for you?” Chi-Tu sighed again, “Not at all. LV is the least loyal person I’ve ever known. He assassinated DING Yuan upon DONG’s offer of fame and fortune and killed DONG for the sake of a beauty. He sought refuge from LIU Bei but took away his territory. He asked for alliance with YUAN Shu but executed his envoy. Nothing can be accomplished without integrity. It is a shame for me to share reputation with a dishonest man like LV! Later on, I served CAO Cao, who commanded plenty of brave generals. However, none of them were real heroes to me. I felt sad that I might have to spend the rest of my life with mediocrity. Later, CAO bestowed me upon General GUAN, a true hero I had long respected. I witnessed his prowess and benevolence in the battlefields, his commitment to friendship in front of interests! It is said that a bird flies high by following a phoenix and a man cultivates his character by making virtuous friends. Now, General GUAN is gone, all I can do is to follow him by death.” BO sighed, “Everyone speaks of General GUAN’s integrity. Now I know it is true.”

With tears, Chi-Tu said, “I have long respected the virtue of BO Yi and SHU Qi who, after the fall of the Shang Dynasty, would rather starve to death than eat the grains offered by the Zhou Dynasty. Integrity is the foundation of a man’s existence.” Then, Chi-Tu fell dead on the ground.

--

--

Joanna

Being a journalist used to be my childhood dream. Although it hasn't come true, writing down some interesting stories and thoughts never leaves my wish list.