Russian Invasion of Ukraine: I Am Proud Of Polish People

Joanna Skladanek
4 min readMar 1, 2022

I should be flying back from Entebbe to Warsaw today, but we had to extend our stay here for two days. I have plenty to tell you; however, today I wanted to share my thoughts about a much more critical issue. Uganda can wait.

I didn’t have Wi-Fi most of the time, so I wasn’t aware of what was going on in Ukraine. But eventually, I did connect, and the amount of news knocked me out of my feet. There are no words to describe how angry, frustrated, disgusted and heartbroken I feel about the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

At this point, I won’t try to describe what exactly happened because I am not fully updated, and the last thing I want is to provide unconfirmed information. But I am sure, by now, you all know what’s going on.
Let me just share you some bits and pieces of what I do know: the situation in Poland at the moment.

When on February 24th, the Poles learned about the tragedy that happened beyond the eastern border of our country, they decided to act. For over days, my nation organized transport of people from the Polish-Ukrainian border, shelters, food, and the most necessary products.

On February 26th Newsweek wrote: Several hundred cars are standing by the border. Ordinary people dropped everything and spontaneously came here in private…

--

--

Joanna Skladanek

Writer, Photojournalist, Photographer and a Full-Time Wanderer.