Delivering happiness

João Henrique Machado Silva
HackerNoon.com
7 min readJan 30, 2018

--

Delivering pizzas in search of happiness…

Delivering Happiness

What do we search in life if not different experiences with different people? If you are not seeking that, what have you been doing with your life, really?

I believe that challenges are a part of life, and as such you should look for them, and not exactly just wait for them to show up in your life. And that is what I did last year for about a month or two. I needed a challenge, so I went and created one for myself.

I am a software engineer from Brazil that had recently moved to Rotterdam NL for work and I decided to work as a delivery guy for a while. This is about what I learned.

First Delivery

There I was, getting on the bike for my first shift and first delivery ever. Let me ask you something, when was the last time you did something for the first time? This is a great feeling, and one that we should seek a lot more in life. Doing something for the first time is one of the most exciting things in life.

Anyway, there I was, at first a little bored because it took about 20 minutes to get my first assignment, the app ringed and I directed myself to the restaurant to pick up the food. It was bit weird, because it was a restaurant that I had been to a couple of times before as a customer and now I was there picking up food to deliver to…

--

--