From Renaissance to AI: Imagining Leonardo da Vinci’s Journey Through Innovation

Jose D. Hernandez-Betancur
7 min readOct 16, 2023

Contemplating da Vinci’s AI Experimentation

Mona Lisa (Image Generated by AI on Gencraft).

Introduction

I’m a big fan of biographies and history. Recently, I got into Walter Isaacson’s book about Leonardo da Vinci. Even though I’m not a professional artist or historian, I was completely fascinated by da Vinci’s life and how he combined different fields like art, science, and engineering. As an engineer, I’m always interested in making connections between different things, just like Steve Jobs once talked about.

After finishing the book, I couldn’t help but think about how da Vinci might have used today’s technology, especially artificial intelligence (AI), in his work. I’m no expert, but I want to share some of my thoughts on this intriguing idea.

Exploration of Leonardo’s Approach to Knowledge

Leonardo and Knowledge (Image Generated by AI on Gencraft).

Before delving into the intriguing question of whether Leonardo da Vinci would have embraced the use of AI in his work, it is imperative to grasp how the legendary polymath approached the acquisition of knowledge. Though I am no expert, my journey through…

--

--

Jose D. Hernandez-Betancur

Ph.D. M.Sc. B.Sc in ChemEng | Data Scientist | Sustainability Sciences | Researcher | University Lecturer