9 Things You Don’t Know About Me… and 1 False Thing

Jodi Tandet
3 min readSep 15, 2018

--

a super recent photo of me, give or take a few decades

The fabulous Iva Ursano tagged me in this here challenge (to reveal things about myself)… and who am I to back away from a challenge or deny myself the opportunity to overshare?

So, here they are: 9 things you didn’t previously know about me (unless you’re my mom; hi, Mom!). And to up the stakes, one lie; see if you can spot it.

1. I come from a family of teachers.

My dad, two aunts, two uncles, three cousins — all teachers, covering preK, elementary, middle, high school, and college.

2. I lived in Jerusalem for 5 months after college.

I was a production intern for an English-speaking nightly news program, where I wrote scripts for the anchors, ran the teleprompter, and cringingly mispronounced the names of Israeli and Arabic leaders.

3. I HATE soda.

Actually, anything carbonated is a no go. The last time I had a sip was about five years ago. It was accidental (seltzer that I thought was regular water) and horrifying. Bleeech. How do people even tolerate carbonation?!?! YOU MONSTERS.

4. I have a crazy bold dream of writing a book of comedic essays.

But I don’t know who would care.

5. I was in speech therapy throughout elementary school.

I couldn’t pronounce anything with a Kr/Cr or Tr. I’d say that people string lights around “Pistmas Pees.”

6. I shot a man in Reno.

…just to watch him die.

7. I LOVE Broadway musicals.

Though I’ve never lived in NYC, I visit often since I have family there. I always enter in show lotteries or find other ways of scoring cheap(er) tickets.

I’ve seen Hairspray, Rent, Waitress, Le Mis, American Idiot, Bring it On, Kinky Boots, Mamma Mia, Movin’ Out, Avenue Q, Wicked, Priscilla Queen of the Desert, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Book of Mormon, Newsies, Carousel, Music Man, Matilda, Chicago, Once, Escape to Margaritaville, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Godspell, La Cage aux Folles, A Chorus Line, Beauty & The Beast, Stomp, The Lion King, Curtains, Spamalot, Beautiful the Carole King Musical, On the Town, Jersey Boys, Ghost, Rock of Ages, In the Heights, Bonnie and Clyde, Bye Bye Birdie, and Annie.

No, I haven’t seen Hamilton. (Grrrr.)

Avenue Q, Spelling Bee, Rent, Hairspray, and Waitress are probably my very favorites.

Le Mis is my least. (I fell asleep. But that’s for a future Medium story.)

7. I don’t quite know my dream career.

I’m currently job searching (within the fields of media/communications, higher education, and community programming), hoping to figure that out.

Hollar at me with an opportunity, please and thanks. y’all!

8. I make my own ice cream.

Thanks, Cuisinart ice cream maker machine thing! Best flavor so far? Peanut butter banana chocolate chip.

9. I rarely wear pants.

I mean I wear dresses and skirts, you sickos. I adore the simplicity of throwing a dress on; no need to coordinate an outfit.

When I wore jeans once in grad school, a student employee who spotted me from the back across campus later told me “I thought it was you, but then realized nahhh Jodi doesn’t wear pants!”

10. My birthday is April 28.

I’ll take a yacht or Hamilton tickets for my next one, thanks.

I hereby nominate Deb Knobelman, PhD, Bonnie Barton, Jessica Wildfire, Sam McKenzie Jr., Lindsey Lazarte, Sarah Lofgren, and Jessalyn Jackson to give this challenge (10 Things You Don’t Know About Me) a whirl too.

…or anyone else reading this. You can say I nominated you. Shhh, I won’t tell.

--

--

Jodi Tandet

recovering em dash overuser writing about mental health, dating, pop culture & other oddities — all with humor + Hamilton references