Not Fair

Joe Griffin
2 min readJul 10, 2015

Fair Every year, I work with my fourth grade students on how to speak correctly. In the classroom, I ban the phrases “mines,” “tooked,” and “reached” when they talk. When they write, texting and social media language is not allowed. I cannot count the number of times a year I have to correct students work with hashtags and lol written all over them.

When talking with students about how why they should speak and write correctly, I talk about perception. My principal at my school wisely said, “Perception is reality.” I discuss with my students how when you hear someone speak for the first time, you are judging them. Someone speaks to them with poor grammar you typically question that individual’s intelligence and authority. When we hear someone speak or write with poor grammar we often think they do not know what they are talking about.

When having this discussion without fail, one student raises their hand and says, “That’s not fair.” Typically the discussion revolves around how people shouldn’t do that, and how we should seek to get to know each other before judging each other. We agree, but later see that we all do this.

My goal with this annual discussion is for my students to see why it is important for them to make sure others see their intelligence by the way they communicate. I don’t want others to think low of them because they are not demonstrating how smart they are.

As Christians we face the same struggle. We are called to be the light of the world, and to love God by loving others. Our actions are what shows our faith. James 2:26 says, “Faith apart from works is dead.” If we want people to know that we are followers of Jesus Christ, then we have to show the world that we follow Him.

Think about those times when you saw someone on the news being interviewed, and they would say things like “I saw him tooked mines car.” You instincts will cause you to think that person in not intelligent. On the flip side, what about that server at that restaurant you visit often, and you leave little or no tip after you left church.

Our actions speak louder than words, and in order for people to be willing to hear the Good News that has changed our lives, we have to live as it has changed ours.

--

--

Joe Griffin

Death to Living Trees: My journey through a life of change.