Super Hero, Super Something

How my Dad helped me to be the Super Hero Dad I always hoped to be

Joe Faraoni
3 min readJun 10, 2014

This was originally written for and posted for my friedns at runitlikeamom.com

Growing up I knew I was destined to be a super hero. As a kid I loved watching super hero movies and perusing comic books. Come to think of it, at 31, I still do. Don’t judge! It’s no worse than any of the Real Housewives series (which you might catch me watching too). Watching mutant humans, men of steel fly, and Batman saving Gotham made me wonder where my superhuman strength was. What the heck?

I watched my father with his superhuman strength and abilities as a child. Erecting rooms with his hands, making cars and dirt bikes come to life with his magical touch, even hand-standing on skateboards. Growing up, I was in awe. He would leave in the morning, come home at night exhausted and have time to cook, provide us with everything we asked for and more. He would goof with us and occasionally take my brother and I on adventures Mom might not have approved of.

On March 28, 2014 I finally became the Superhero who my dad taught me that I had the potential of being.

My super powers were a little overwhelming at first. It took some getting used to. The learning curve was far greater than any of the books I had attempted to read before that miraculous day. No one warned me about how difficult making the transition from normal human to super human would be. I’m taking it one day at a time. The lasers, speed and crushing strength I’ve held at bay. That is until this week.

This past Monday was the first time I tried my super powers while flying solo. Mommy went back to work and I got to be Dad to Enzo, my 10 week old son. I wasn’t necessarily scared, but I was fearful of the unknown. Who wouldn’t be? Dad left at home while Mom returned to society with her own superhuman traits at bay (until she gets home). It’s exhausting and amazing to use the full-potential of my super powers. Wiping a butt and changing diapers like the Flash, vacuuming while holding coffee and a kid strapped to my chest as I’d imagine Spider Man doing, and at times holding frustration in like Bruce Banner holding back Hulk from an untimely appearance. Dad, Smash! Needless to say, the house is still standing and no one was hurt. No need to call the National Guard, I got this.

As I learn my way on this incredible path I’ll remember the things my dad did with me, taught me, showed me. I hope to be a sliver of all the super men I look up to — for Enzo.

My dad, my grandfather, uncles, friends, mentors, coaches, all super heroes. Thank you. Let me not forget all the amazing women in my life who have always kept me from turning to Hulk and without them I, we, would have no super powers at all. To my wife, Marisa: Thank you for allowing me to become the super hero I always knew I could be. It was you I needed to make me super human all along.

I have yet to come across my kryptonite but when I do I’ll be ready to battle. For Enzo’s sake. I still don’t know all of my powers… I’m still learning and harnessing them, much to the dismay and wonderment of my amazing wife. Does telling corny jokes count? I do know that Enzo doesn’t know all my strengths and may have witnessed but doesn’t quite understand my weaknesses. This character has a lot of development to be had. This is merely issue No. 1 of a long series. I can only hope the example I display for him has the impact my super hero Dad had on me.

For now, all he needs to know is that when he shines that Bat Signal in the sky (or in his room) I’ll be there as fast as I can.

To all the super humans out there… my hats off to you.

--

--