Yester Better Days

Joe Fuller
2 min readFeb 25, 2021

I wanted it easy
It ain’t been easy
I wanted it lazy
But it got crazy
It was insane
There was a lot of pain
There was a lot of joy

I wanted it mellow
But I’m not that kind of fellow
I wanted peace
Far away from the police
Is it wrong
To want to get along
To be a good boy?

I don’t get what I want
And my needs, they’re barely met
And the woman who haunts
My dreams won’t let me forget a long time ago, in the yester-better days, when she would let me know that, if I changed my ways, she would say she loved me.

I wanted her to say it
So I tried to play it
The role of a changed man
My soul, it got strange, man
I started lying
She started crying
She said, “No more.”

It all came to an end
The make believe, the pretend
That night, the sky was starry
I can’t tell you how sorry
The inside of me felt
Thought I was…

--

--

Joe Fuller

small time songwriter, poet and...I forget the third thing.