The World Together

Joe Kernan
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
8 min readDec 22, 2019

--

I published this back in 2006. You can see the original below. I thought it would be appropriate to re-post it today.

A thought occurred to me the other day — “I suppose God wonders who or what created Him.” This thought didn’t just pop into my mind, of course; I was led to it through various things that I’ve been reading and thinking about lately.

I’ve had a lot of time to read and think about such things in recent months. A little more than a year ago, like many intelligent, educated people these days, and probably throughout history, I chose a self-destructive course for my life that included the use and abuse of drugs, alcohol, and other people. I distanced myself from my family and others who loved and cared about me. While I didn’t stop loving or caring about them, I chose to live on the streets without
responsibility or accountability.

Needless to say this was a dangerous path to choose and continuing it would have led to either institutionalization or death, perhaps both. But I can’t say that I regret having taken that path now that I’m on a safer one. To spend…

--

--

Joe Kernan
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I’ve been a soldier, a teacher, an advocate for people with disabilities, an attorney and a ne’er-do-well. I’ve struggled with substance abuse and homelessness.