The Awesome Column

I Will Eat the Bugs

Elites Plan to Replace Our Meat with Bugs So They Can Control the World. I Want in.

Joel Stein
7 min readSep 13, 2022

--

I’ve always found the novelist and essayist Walter Kirn to be a thought-provoking writer, interesting conversationalist, and, most importantly, willing blurber of my book.

So, I wasn’t surprised when the author of Up in the Air had something to say in a response to a tweet from PBS’ Nova series touting its reporting on edible insects.

I figured Walter would offer some story about eating a roasted tarantula with Cambodian drug dealers or being scammed by an old Princeton classmate who became a flim-flam artist selling fake insects. I didn’t know what you’d make a fake insect out of, or how you’d profit off them since they’d have to be cheaper than real insects, but I was excited to find out.

That’s not what Walter tweeted.

This is what Walter wrote:

Bug-eating means industrial bug farming, which means inevitable apocalyptic pathogenic horror for all sorts of species of plants and animals. Stop thinking an insect diet is merely gross and kind of quirky. Think of what might happen to, say, the bees. Or to us. Oppose.

--

--

Joel Stein

Joel Stein’s In Defense of Elitism: Why I’m Better Than You and You’re Better Than Someone Who Didn’t Buy This Book, is the best book ever. www.thejoelstein.com