The 10 Biggest Mistakes I’ve Made as a Writer … Before I Was Finally Able to Sustain, and Thrive

Don’t walk in my footsteps, as it took me decades to turn my writing into a full-time income. The following are 10 steps to notice red flags and avoid the pitfalls.

Joel Eisenberg
The Startup

--

Introduction:

Sure, the above quote may be overly-simplistic. The point, though, is well-taken.

There is no biological difference between a professional writer and a so-called amateur … other than perhaps a few synapses working overtime and increased adrenaline-flow based on writing as a freelancer, in part due to desperation, to get to where you need to be.

Writers, I believe, are creatures of need, not want.

A professional has been paid for their work and builds to a sustaining career, or income stream. An amateur works to become a professional.

--

--

Joel Eisenberg
The Startup

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.