When Your Significant Other is a Writer

The proper care and feeding of scribes requires a complete set of skills definitely not in any manual.

Joel Eisenberg
Age of Awareness
Published in
6 min readFeb 10, 2020

--

I’m the writer in my house.

In order to keep my marriage sacred, what follows are not my wife’s words about the quirky habits of yours truly.

I tend to expose those myself in my various articles here on Medium.

No, for this story I interviewed 17 non-creative partners of whose spouse or significant other is of the writerly persuasion.

I love the answers I’ve received. They were honest and will be kept anonymous, and I’m going to jump off from there.

So to those anonymous responses …

  • “He never listens to me. His head is always buried in his work.”
  • “She writes naked. I hate it. I’m STILL attracted to my wife after 24 years. I see her bouncing around the house naked with a pen in her mouth, the last thing I care about is the next piece of dialogue from one of her characters.”
  • “He writes in his birthday suit. Sometimes he lays in bed propped up by a pillow with nothing on but his iPad. I can’t take it. I know he’s working but he comes off like such a lazy ass sometimes. I bet no other writers write with no

--

--

Joel Eisenberg
Age of Awareness

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.