Humorous Life Lessons

Restless in Raleigh: An Insomniac’s Chronicle

The lesson I didn’t want to learn at 3 am

joelene wolfe
4 min readFeb 2, 2024

--

Insomnia
Image via Pixabay

Have you ever been so exhausted that you fall into a blissful, deep sleep, only to find yourself wide awake hours later, imploring the sleep gods for just an extra hour of rest?

Well, welcome to my night!

It has been an unusually stressful week. The kind of week that by the time I plopped down on the couch, I was so worn out, I didn’t care who won the reality show I’d been binge-watching for a week. The next thing I knew, head slung back and mouth open, I was gently woken up and prompted to go to bed.

I have to move? But I am so comfy.

Crawling into bed felt amazing and I fell right back to sleep with no problem. There’s something about slipping under the covers, leaving the world behind, that’s just magical.

Weird? Maybe but I have always loved to sleep.

My mission tonight was simple: close my eyes and forget about my week. Then, it happened.

3:30 am:

My eyes shot open and the endless tossing and turning began. I tried to find a comfortable position for what seemed like an eternity. Then from all the twisting and turning I…

--

--

joelene wolfe

Mom, Actor, Writer, Marketer & motivator. Just taking life one step at a time and enjoying every minute. 💕💕