WHY I QUIT MY JOB TO DAILY VLOG

Joel Popoff
4 min readJan 17, 2017

Not into reading? Watch the video instead :)

I’ve always dreamed of travelling the world, but was to afraid to do it. Why would I quit my job with a great company, why would I leave a city as beautiful as Vancouver, why would I leave all my friends and family back home to move somewhere I’ve never even been before, why, why, why?

Then suddenly it dawned on me. I’m not truly happy. I don’t wake up excited to start the day. I’ve lost my joy. I walk around the office and look absolutely miserable.

I was just coming up with excuses of why I can’t leave this so called “perfect life” I have in Canada because of fear. I didn’t want to admit to myself that it wasn’t as perfect as it sounded. But finally came to my senses and realized nothing is perfect if you don’t enjoy it.

Now you can call me a spoiled, generation Y, millennial and I would be perfectly ok with it. Because maybe I am. But I absolutely refuse to continue to live life doing something that doesn’t make me happy.

You could have the absolute best life in the world but if you’re miserable living that life then what’s the point.

My new goal was to escape. I had been working steady since age eleven, studied hard and got a good post secondary education, and had already built a career I thought I wouldn’t achieve until I was well into my thirties.

I was done! All the things I had worked so hard to achieve turned out to be not so special. I had spent so much time thinking about retirement and setting myself for the future. But forgot about the fact that I was wasting the most important years of my life to save for the end.

So I had a problem. But how was I suppose to solve it? How was I suppose to leave it all behind? I had never travelled for more than a month before. Where would I even begin to start?

I wished there would be some type of guide to follow on how to be a digital nomad. How could I leave my life in Canada and start a new life abroad? How could I live like a king for under $1500 a month? How could I wake up every single day with a smile on my face and be excited to start a new day?

I couldn’t find anything. There was nobody that was 100% transparent in every single thing they did. That showed not just the good side of travelling but the bad side too.

I will be vlogging every single day to show you the real life of a digital nomad. To show you and teach you exactly how I live. I’m basically just trying to solve my own problem. If I’ve been frustrated about this I know there must be others around the world that are just as frustrated as me.

I will be telling you exactly how much money I have left Canada with and will be counting down the total I’ve spent every single day #transparency. I will show you the good, bad and ugly side of travelling. I will teach you how I saved for my trip, what I packed, how I pick my destinations, where to stay for next to nothing and most importantly how to live a more fulfilling life.

The best part is I’ve never done this before. I’m starting from absolute scratch. So you can’t say “well he travels all the time, so he knows what he’s doing. I can’t travel like that.” I don’t have a clue what I’m doing. But I will be learning from my mistakes everyday and teaching you how to not make the same mistakes I’ve made.

My goal from these vlogs is to inspire, motivate and encourage millions of people around the world to quit their jobs (if they are unhappy), travel the world, and develop self awareness.

Want more stories like this?

If you want to live more and work less subscribe to get a new video everyday . I’ll be teaching you tips, tricks and practical advice on how to travel the world, develop self-awareness and live a more fulfilling life.

Subscribe to get a new video everyday >>>bit.ly/POPOFF_official

Call to Action

If you liked this article — feel free to 👏👏👏 it up to 50 times, it helps others find this too.

--

--

Joel Popoff

Full Stack Digital Marketer & Founder of 1Million Media :)