To Video Podcast or Not to Video Podcast: Benefits, Drawbacks and Tips for Video Podcasting

Joe Pardavila
3 min readOct 4, 2023

--

Since I started producing podcasts for entrepreneurs, I always get two questions from the jump: How can I grow my podcast? And should I do a video podcast?

For the first question, I say craft a well-produced podcast that connects with a community and publishes consistently. Many don’t like that answer because it sounds really hard and doesn’t include a magic bullet for Joe Rogan-level success.

The answer to the second question is more complicated. Full transparency: I’m an “audio guy.” I’ve worked in radio and podcasting my entire career. Like many, I love the intimacy of the medium and the connection with a listener. Whether they’re sitting in a car, taking a walk, or just chilling on the couch, it’s hard to think of a medium that encourages both passive and active listening as podcasting does.

On the technical side, being an “audio podcaster” has a low barrier to entry thanks to ever-advancing technology and affordable recording options that won’t scare off novice hosts. I like to joke with clients that I can make anyone sound good with editing. Cutting, pasting, and re-recording can salvage almost any audio disaster.

Here are my caveats about podcasting: Video is less forgiving and impossible to seamlessly edit. Also, we just spent three years as video zombies staring at screens during Zoom calls. Do we really want to essentially “watch” a Zoom call for a podcast? If you have a professional home studio set up and someone operating the camera, go for it.

I’m not a video hater by any means. Adding video raises the difficulty level and could frustrate beginners.

I should also mention that not all podcasts have to look or sound professional. If you want to have fun recording a video podcast in your basement, go for it. Don’t let anyone, especially me, kill your joy. I’m speaking to entrepreneurs, CEOs, and influencers using podcasts to build authority online. To do that, you must present yourself well, and for naysayers who say, “Who cares how it looks? Just be authentic." Does that mean you don’t spellcheck articles or look for grammar errors? Authenticity doesn’t mean being unprofessional.

Video is a great tool. I use the best clips from my podcast to promote new episodes, like movie trailers. Video apps like YouTube and TikTok have become major players in podcast discovery.

Whether to do a video podcast is a question only you can answer. Video raises the bar on quality but can also raise awareness. Consider your goals, resources, and comfort level. Neither format is right or wrong. Podcasting is personal. As long as you’re creating something meaningful for your ideal listener, you’re on the right track.

I’m thrilled to share my conversation with communication expert Matt Abrahams Abrahams on the latest episode of the Forbes Books Podcast.

As host of the popular podcast Think Fast, Talk Smart and author of the new book Think Faster, Talk Smarter, Matt has decades of experience helping people communicate more effectively.

Matt generously shares his best tips for speaking confidently and successfully in high-pressure situations in this episode.

Check out our chat on Forbes Books, Apple, Spotify, and wherever you listen to podcasts.

--

--

Joe Pardavila

Podcaster | Writer | Author of "Good Listen" | NYC ✈️ Charleston