Counting Macros for Dummies

Joey Dessino
3 min readFeb 7, 2018

--

Being that I love to share my fitness story on social media I often get questions from individuals asking for diet help. One of the reasons I decided to write this blog is because it seems like people genuinely struggle when it comes to reaching whatever fitness goal they may have.

Whether it’s not knowing how to diet, which diet to try, or just not knowing enough to track the food that they are consuming, people always have difficulty. When someone asks me what to do I always respond with count your macros! It’s simple, easy to track, and you can still eat what you want to eat to a certain extent.

One of the main reasons I tell people to count macros is because there isn’t really limitations on what you are allowed to eat. Yes, I encourage you to healthy, but there are no calorie limits or dictated foods that you must eat. As long as you are hitting your fat, protein, and carb designations you can really mix and match what foods you like.

Please Excuse the Language
Macro Break Down

What are Macros?
The very next question that I always get when I ask someone if they count macros is “what are macros?”. Again, it’s simple, macros are foods that our body breaks down to create energy.

There are three main sectors of macro nutrition. The three sectors are Carbs, Proteins, and Fats. These three sectors are found in all types of foods and are measured in grams.

How Do I Calculate My Macros?
An individual that wants to calculate their macros must be able to answer several questions about themselves to calculate the goal they are trying to achieve.

  1. Age
  2. Height
  3. Weight
  4. Sex
  5. Fitness Goal (lose weight, gain muscle, maintain)
  6. Activity level (light, moderate, very active, extra active)

The best calculator that I have found was on the Bodybuilding.com website. Once this is done the calculator will generate in grams the amount of carbs, proteins, and fats a person must consume a day to reach their goal.

Tracking your Macros!
Now that you have your calculated macro goal all you need to do is download the MyFitnessPal app in your app store.

You can enter you macro calculations right into the app and it will give you a complete breakdown of what you are eating throughout the day.

The neat thing about this app is it allows you to scan barcodes or search foods that might not have barcodes on the packages. It even has restaurant dishes added in if you decide to eat out one night.

It really is that simple to count your macros!

Do I need any Equipment?
All you need to make this work is:

  1. Smart phone
  2. MyFitnessPal app
  3. A small food scale (this helps determine the number of grams of meat you eat)
  4. Measuring cups

--

--