Family Secrets that Shaped a Legend: Dave Gahan’s Rise from Lost Boy to Depeche Mode Icon

Johanna Lynn
4 min readMay 15, 2024

--

As an enthusiastic fan of Depeche Mode for 35 years, I found it fascinating to discover lead singer Dave Gahan’s realization that the father he had always believed to be his own growing up was not his biological father after all.

Len Callcott was Dave’s biological father, a Malaysian descendant and bus driver who left his family when Dave was just six months old.

His parents divorced and his mother remarried an administrator named Jack Gahan, who gave him and his sister their last name. They both grew up thinking their real father was Gahan, until he died in 1972.

Then Len Callcott reappeared.

“I will never forget that day. When I came home this stranger was at my moms house. My mom introduced him to me as my biological father. All I could think to say is that’s impossible because my father is dead.”

Len was close to the family for a year until he disappeared again.

This impacted Dave deeply.

In his teens years, he was in juvenile court three times for crimes like graffiti, driving at high speed and stealing cars.

Dave has shared in many interviews that music saved his life.

Throughout these tumultuous times, music became Dave Gahan’s lifeline. He found solace and purpose in the melodies and lyrics, channeling his inner struggles into artistic expression.

Yet, his battle with drugs loomed large, casting a shadow over his life and career.

In 1996, Dave Gahan’s tumultuous battle with drug addiction nearly cost him his life. After consuming a dangerous mixture of substances, he ended up in the hospital, teetering between life and death. He arrived at the hospital and went into cardiac arrest for two minutes, and openly shared about his near death experience.

What I noticed in the hospital was that I came out of my body. I was floating on the ceiling and watching exactly what was happening. I became a witness to what happened to my body. These seconds seemed like hours to me, and out of nowhere, there was complete and terrifying darkness all around me. Like someone turned off the light.

Remarkably, during his clinical death, Gahan’s wife Jennifer appeared to him. “She called me back, I felt she was the light, the good in my life.

Jennifer, who was in New York at the time, shared she had an “overwhelming feeling that something terrible had happened to me.”

Dave Gahan’s struggle with addiction over the years, highlights the intricate interplay between family dynamics and our own personal struggles.

In every family, each member holds a unique place, and the absence of one can create a void so painful that the need to numb that pain can be the outcome.

As many of us know — all too well — addictions can be seen as attempts to numb the pain of unresolved family issues.

The absence of a father figure leaves deep emotional scars that reverberate through generations.

Dave’s life highlights that no matter how deep the darkness, there is resilience and hope.
He’s overcome addiction.
He is happily married, 25 years and counting.
He’s a present & loving father to 3 adult children.

I went to see their latest, Memento Mori World Tour and it was absolutely incredible. Their voices, their energy, their stage presence, the ability to bring 65,000 people together, singing their songs in unison. Simply unforgettable !

After 47 years of creating music, 15 studio albums, countless tour dates of sharing their music live with raving fans — this tour sold out across the globe.

Dave Gahan’s unwavering commitment to his sobriety and health underscore the transformative power of music and the human spirit.

--

--

Johanna Lynn

support for therapists & coaches I epigenetics I how our family imprint shapes the challenges we face today