Johanna Nader
1 min readAug 29, 2017

--

If I can take anything away from this painful post, it is this paragraph. Your sentiment applies to much more than whether black girls and white girls can be “friends.”

For me, it is the absolute definition of allyship, friendship, comradeship, etc. In order for me to give my heart to someone, to call them a friend, this an absolute requirement; that they don’t break bread with my enemies, that they do see a clearly deliniated black and white.

This means I have few friends and that’s okay. The friends I do have are ones I can abolutely count on to always have my back, so to speak.

I hear you and I send my love to you. You are wounded and betrayed. You are in mourning.

And after the pain subsides, which it always does, the healing of your soul will begin.

But please don’t give up on us.

Namaste

--

--

Johanna Nader

retired teacher seeks meaning on the backend of her life.