CS371p Fall 2022: Johann Ramirez | Blog 7

Johannramirez
3 min readOct 9, 2022

--

October 9 2022

Hi, my name is Johann Ramirez and I’m a third year studying Computer Science at the University of Texas at Austin.

What did you do this past week?

Monday was solely dedicated to OOP while the rest of the week was essentially used to catch up with the textbook readings for algorithms and to finish the assignment for the class too. When it comes to non-school stuff I finally got around to germinating and planting fall vegetables since it’s the right time of the year and because I had some rare free time.

What’s in your way?

For this week specifically, I wanted to get an early jump on the project for OOP since it’s about to be explained on Monday but I have to first complete a project for modern web applications that’s due on Tuesday which may burn me out a little but thankfully that leaves the second half of the week relatively free to get started on the project.

What will you do next week?

Besides the web application and OOP projects, I also want to put some time in when it comes to working on my personal website. With the tools I’m picking up in my web app class I’m getting a little more familiar with web development but my website is still pretty barren save for a quick introduction on me so I’m hoping to spend some extra time doing javascript/html/css this upcoing week if I get the free time.

What did you think of Paper #7: The Liskov Substitution Principle?

It was a good read! I really like that the papers heavily correlate to what we learn in class because instead of being something totally random, it acts as supplemental material that backs up what is said in lecture while giving extra information that wasn’t said in lecture.

What was your experience of std::array() and std::vector?

In C+, the power vectors have over arrays was a great learning experience. In most CS core classes, not upper divs, there’s not much talk at all on vectors and arrays are essentially the “industry standard” for our coding projects but from a competitive programming standpoint, or even an industry standpoint, vectors really are much better given that the situation calls for it since they’re so versatile and not as ugly to mess with as arrays.

What made you happy this week?

Going to a function with some friends during the weekend, we were going to go see the bats fly out from under the bridge at sundown but instead we ending up exploring some niche places in downtown Austin.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is that you can indeed code using an iPad. One of the main compalints I hear regarding iPads is the inability to write code in a professional IDE, but with VSCode over the web, it’s entirely possible to do things like SSH into the CS lab machines and work on a project.

--

--