Movies

Some of My Best Friends Have Been Movies

Finding connection on the silver screen

John Michalak
3 min readJan 30, 2024

--

Photo of a young woman in a theater, enjoying a movie.
Canva image stock from Syda Productions.

I was meandering through my mid-afternoon doldrums the other day when I suddenly felt a warm injection of life and joy. Browsing YouTube, I came across some clips from a movie I hadn’t watched in a while: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

If you’ve never seen it, it’s a silly, whimsical film from the 1980s about a teenager who plays hooky from school. He spends the day living in the moment while pursuing fantastical pleasures like driving a classic sports car and dancing in a parade.

I watched the clips feeling like I’d been reunited with a long-lost friend.

I wasn’t just reminded of the joy and entertainment found in the movie. I was reminded of how bonded I felt to the movie itself: to Ferris, who reminded me of buddies I had as a teenager; to his friends and other fun characters; to their wonderful, exciting experiences.

It was a pleasant discovery. The film had become part of me in a way I’d never realized before.

Our Bond With Art and Movies

The singer, Amy Grant, once said that while she couldn’t remember most of the sermons preached at church during her childhood, she could remember most of the songs and…

--

--

John Michalak

Author and Speaker. Servant to two spoiled cats. Bridging the things of eternity with everyday experience.