From being Rejected as GDSC Lead to Top MENA

Reflection on my Journey as a Google Developer Student Clubs Leader

John Aziz
3 min readMay 23, 2023

How did I know about the program?

One day I was going to my lecture and I met some people in our open area they told me about a program that is provided by Google for students and guess what?

I DID NOT BELIEVE THEM.

Later that day when I got back home I googled what they claimed and it was TRUE.

Become a Developer Student Club Lead!

Applying for the program & Getting Rejected

I told my friend right away and we applied together really early as soon as the application was open. => goo.gle/gdsc-leads
We got the response together... She got accepted and I got rejected.
This really made me sad.

I questioned myself days and nights, what did I do wrong? Is there anything that I could’ve done better? and Finally, I decided to contact our Program Manager Aya Sayed. She didn’t reply lol but she saw my message. later on, she told me that this message was one of the reasons I was accepted.

Rejection Email Feedback

And to my surprise, the reason I got rejected was that I was too spontaneous I never knew there was such a thing but there is, and that it is very important to think before you speak.

Working with my Core Team

After being selected as the GDSC Lead 2020–2021 I started forming my core team I searched for the following qualities Fun, Friendly, Passionate, and Helpful.

And I found them my dearest core team members. we worked together in the first couple of months on learning about Google Technologies and Qwiklabs.
we spent a lot of nights together solving quests and labs. It was sooo fun.

Online Study Jam

Conclusion

It really was a life-changing experience for me learning about a lot of new things that I never heard of like all the Google Technologies lol and Communities.

I’m now a Co-Organizer at GDG Cloud Egypt which is one of the biggest developer communities in my country.

I have received the Global certificate from the Global Lead Erica Hanson.

Certificate of Completion — GDSC Global

I have received the MENA certificate from the Regional Lead Salim Abid.

Certificate of Completion - GDSC MENA

And finally, I have received my Top MENA Certification of Excellence.

Certificate of Excellence — Top MENA

I won’t forget to mention the person who has always been there for me who has helped me along the way to achieve all of this who has offered me her time and support Aya Sayed.
Thank you so much for your dedication.
You and Salim are what makes all of this possible.

Graduation Gift

--

--

John Aziz

Session Lead at Udacity | Gold MLSA | GDG Cloud Egypt Organizer | Google Cloud Certified Engineer | Computer Engineering Student