A TRUCK DRIVER. Life of a truck driver, what’s it like?

John Bouley
8 min readOct 15, 2023

I can remember like it was yesterday, climbing in behind the wheel of that big-rig for the first time! You want to talk about being intimidated and excited and somewhat numb all at the same time, if that makes any sense, (I guess you’d have to be there) but it was a challenge I was not going to pass up. I enrolled in a school that would educate, train and have me qualified in less that eight weeks, then place me with an employer. However I was fortunate enough to have been already set up in a company I was presently employed with, and they even flipped the bill for the school. Unlike the typical 9-to-5er who has weekends off, truck drivers are on the road for weeks at a time making the truck their home, and when your just starting out, that’s usually the case. My circumstances were quite different however and starting out was just regular work hours with weekends off. I was hauling 53 foot dry vans filled with palletized cases of shoes to and from storage warehouses. Living up in New England at the time left me with some challenges, dealing with low bridges, traveling thru Boston and of course, those New England winters! Gaining experience over time and acquiring a supervisory role in the company left me sure footed for the challenges that would lay ahead.

CHALLENGES IN THE LIFE OF A TRUCK DRIVER.

--

--

John Bouley

Author of The Changing Tides (I'm just saying). I enjoy writing poetry and short stories