THE TRUTH ABOUT LYNDON B. JOHNSON

John Bouley
5 min readMar 20, 2024

36TH US PRESIDENT

Born in Stonewall Texas on August 27, 1908, LBJ grew up in a family with financial hardships. Indeed, Johnson came from humble origins, and when he became a senator, and then President, LBJ seemed to have had a genuine sympathy for those less fortunate and then related those experiences into social policy laws, however, after researching the life and times of LBJ, there are connections that I find very disturbing pertaining to the life of such a celebrated political figure. Johnson won the election to the US Senate in 1948 after winning the Democratic primary by only 87 votes. This would eventually bring up allegations of voter fraud, which is still debated to this day. This is just the start of a long list of scandals associated with LBJ.

Known Facts About LBJ

I’m not going to get deep into Johnson’s biography in this article, but I just wanted to point out some relevant facts that I find very interesting and somewhat controversial. I’ll begin with the allegations against him that became a noose around Johnson’s neck and began to tighten from the investigations and the official corruptions that he was connected with. I’ll begin with Billie Sol Estes, who was a Texas wheeler dealer who relied on LBJ to guide him to government deals and then protect him from being audited. Now, what follows is the death of a US…

--

--

John Bouley

Author of The Changing Tides (I'm just saying). I enjoy writing poetry and short stories