Montalvo Arts Center — Lookout Trail

John in Cali
3 min readJul 21, 2023

--

Refreshing short hike under redwoods trees, and with a lookout!

I’ve been more stressed recently, and feeling more so today. So I decided to take a spontaneous hike into the woods.

For those who don’t know, I have been unemployed for many months now. At least the advantage is that I can take a hike at odd work hours, and that’s what I chose to do today at 11 am.

It’s probably been ten years since I last did this hike at Montalvo Arts Center to the lookout point, and today, I brought Rooney with me. He’s a Havanese mix, and a old dog at such, at 12 years of age, (or age 64 in human equivalent.)

I know that the Lookout Trail is a short hike, less than 1 mile in, and less than 1 mile out, but I didn’t remember how steep the climb was. Nevertheless, Rooney at his old age was still able to slowly hike with me. What a man’s best friend!

Below are some photos so you can “forest bathe” virtually anytime also. If you live nearby, I highly recommend this short, free, get-away from the every day once in awhile. It’s been too long since I came back here.

On the way up
Into the woods
And keep going up
And to the lookout!

And if you don’t care for being in the redwoods or the lookout, there are also plenty of walking that can be done on the grounds of the Montalvo Arts, which we also did a bit this time but I’ll do more next time.

I also suggest Parking Lot 3 for starting this trail. And bringing a large bottle of water and real shoes with traction. I was basically wearing Crocs, which was not a good idea.

--

--

John in Cali

Sharing fascinating experiences, perspectives, and learnings.