Moving on from Soylent

John Coogan
2 min readJul 12, 2017

--

After 5 incredible years at Soylent, I’m moving on to work on new projects. Co-founding Soylent was the most deeply rewarding experience of my professional career and I am permanently indebted to all the passionate, smart, and hard-working folks who helped get us to where we are today.

In 2012, I moved into a house in Sunnyvale, California with Rob Rhinehart, Matt Cauble, and David Renteln. Although we were working on different ideas at the time, we would go on to co-found Soylent together in 2013, shortly after Rob released his blog post announcing that he had stopped eating food entirely for a full month. The history of the company has been well documented (I encourage you to read through the amazingly in-depth four-part profile in the Dieline) and there are too many great memories to share in this post, but I would be remiss if I didn’t thank all the customers, employees, investors, executives, and partners who have made Soylent possible. The company is poised for incredible growth and has the proper people in place to achieve the full vision laid out by Rob and the early team. I can’t wait to watch it all unfold.

As for what’s next, I’ll be staying involved in startups, although the exact capacity has yet to be finalized. I love advising new companies that are in the early stages of brand development or are beginning to build an e-commerce strategy. If you’re thinking about starting a company or want my advice on a current project, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Longer-term, I’d love to start another company, so don’t be surprised if you hear a wacky pitch from me in the near future.

Onward and upward!

--

--

John Coogan

Co-founder of @Soylent, was CTO there for ~5 years. I write about technology, marketing, ecommerce, food, productivity, and anything that can be hacked.