Less Things, More Peace

John Crabtree
3 min readJul 16, 2024

--

Isn’t it interesting, that the wisdom we find, is often already within us

We know much of it inherently, yet we lose sight of it

That lightbulb moment is often a remembrance of what we’ve forgotten

What we once knew as true, yet lost sight of

Less things, more Peace

“The things you own end up owning you.

It’s only after you lose everything that you’re free to do anything.”

Tyler Durden — Fight Club — Chuck Palahniuk

It is amazing how we chase material possessions

Speaking from personal experience, I found myself back in Paradigm of More Things today

Amazon’s Prime Day (which is now two-days….ironically) is expected to generate 14 billion dollars in sales, with Amazon’s biggest day of the year coming on day-one — Reuters

Leading up to this, I found myself wondering what things I needed, what promotions I could take advantage of what

I use Amazon for many of my personal items: laundry detergent, deodorant, toothpaste, protein powder, etc.

These items are temporary

I don’t hold permanent space for them, they are replaceable figuratively and literally

Like all of us, I do have a few guilty pleasures material items

One in particular that seems to take up more and more physical space….

Books

As I found myself looking at prime day deals, I recognized something

That these material possession are starting to sway my thinking, my emotions

While I found myself ordering new books, I already own a half-dozen that are still unread

Why do I continue adding my own mini-library?

“Because it is a good deal, and I should take advantage of this promotion”

Well shoot, you got me Amazon

The promotion won today

The sense of urgency that promotion generates can have an enormous impact on our buying decisions

Side Note:

(I’ve noticed a variation of my grocery purchases based on sale-items)

(Why did I get more blueberries than I could possibly eat?)

It seems we have this sense of gathering, acquiring, collecting things

Without realizing the expanded space this requires

Both mentally and physically

These material objects begin to take up space in our lives

We become attached to things, without even realizing it

How many things do you have, that are rarely even used?

Yet you find space for them

You make room for them

You are unwilling to part with them, despite the lack of functional utility

Over time, what happens?

We continue to accumulate more and more

We refuse to let go of what we’ve replaced

To the point where the thought of everything we own becomes overwhelming

In a sense, we become captive to our material possessions

Unable to take advantage of what could be

What we own, ends up owning us

Do all of these things really bring us happiness?

No, they don’t

They bring a temporary high, a sense of immediate-gratification when first acquired

Over time, shiny objects lose their luster

We look for something new to fill the void that our current possessions no longer can

So we buy more things

And the cycle repeats

Today is a learning experience for me

That I still fall into the Paradigm of More Things

While there was a sense of excitement upon ordering, I quickly wondered,

“What about the books I already have?”

So I pose this question to you

What about the things you already have?

When is enough, enough?

Before you make that purchase, ask yourself one more thing

Is there any truth to Less Things, More Peace?

Thought of the Day: 07–16–2024

--

--