John Crane
1 min readOct 15, 2021

--

The affair was in the 5th year of marriage, the divorce 5 years later.

Why did I wait so long? In my state, in that particular time it was fairly certain my then wife would get full custody, I would get to pay child support and a shit sandwich that is served with it.

I was smart enough to understand the deep abyss I stood on the edge of and took action, legally and financially to protect myself as best I could. If she wanted blood, it wasn't going to be just mine.

In retrospect staying married was one of my worst decisions. The only consolation being my ex did feel some level of regret, mostly that her actions had consequences.

Looking at someone you loved, and trying to reconcile that with the betrayal and pain they gave you a bridge I've not crossed yet.

I faked it for a long time, the get along smile , banter when the role of parent forced me to deal with her.

My ex-wife died a few years ago. I'm glad my sons will never see this but, fuck her.

As Joan Jett once put it, “You got nothing to lose when you lose fake friends”.

--

--

John Crane

An ethical scoundrel who sees the colors between black and white. White, male cranky, old and casually human Fridays.