An Interview with Halo Platform…Part I

john kenny
4 min readJul 14, 2019

--

I have had a keen interest in the Halo Platform cryptocurrency project for some time and made reference to it in a recent article. Halo Platform is a post-ICO well-established project which many in the know see as a hidden gem with great potential.

Following this article, Scott Morrison (Halo Platform founder) reached out to me to clarify a few of the features. I thought I would take the opportunity and request a formal interview with him to get an inside view of the workings of an evolving cryptocurrency project.

The following is a rough transcript of our conversation. This is part one…..enjoy.

Me: Can you give me some background into your experience and interest with cryptocurrency and the blockchain?

Scott: I am a self-confessed nerd, just ask my close friends and family. I attended college working towards a degree in Computer Science and, after spending some time in the corporate world in finance, in 2013 I started to rediscover my love of technology through cryptocurrency.

Me: What areas of crypto did you first get started in and how did your journey progress?

Scott: I started playing around with mining, which I still dabble in. They are my crypto-toys which I affectionately refer to as my ‘adult Legos’. I then got into trading which is a natural progression from mining. I joined various crypto-based communities, discussing various coins and projects. It became apparent that the space was very disorganized and disjointed with the need to have multiple windows open to interact with the different areas within crypto.

Me: I sense you are leading on to where the idea for Halo Platform came from.

Scott: The disarray in the crypto-space lead me to start experimenting with blockchain tech and I created a few ‘sandpit’ projects in 2015–2016 to help me understand the technology a bit better and see if I could improve things. In 2017 I took the leap and Halo Platform was born.

Me: So, in just a few words, can you describe what the Halo Platform is/does?

Scott: Our vision of Halo Platform is all about reorganizing the crypto space to provide a clearer and more comprehensive environment. Making it easier to use and encourage adoption by delivering functions, features and tools which add value through their ease of use. I want it to benefit all aspects and users of crypto from trading, passive income, asset management — meaning multiple currencies, project and smart contract creation, gaming, gambling and a host of other areas yet to be confirmed. We are building an entire ecosystem with endless possibilities.

Me: Is Halo Platform a fork of another blockchain?

Scott: Yes, it is a fork of Ethereum with added features. Our block speed is 250ms and blocks are produced on-demand. This means, as network speed increases the block speed adjusts dynamically. Our Gas limit is almost 10 times that of Ethereum so we can have more complex contracts per block. Halo is transaction free. Compared to Ethereum and other well-known blockchains, our smart contracts work in micro-seconds whereas the others work in seconds.

Me: I did hear that your Masternode design will allow for payouts in other currencies like Bitcoin or Ethereum. Can you tell me more about this?

Scott: Yes, our Masternode design is unique, like no other. In version 2, holders will be able to get rewarded in the currency of their choice provided it is on the Halo network. So, yes you will be able to receive your rewards in Bitcoin, Ethereum or potentially another other crypto. It’s also important to note that you don’t have to host your own node. In a lot of cases people are not tech-savvy or don’t want the hassle of managing their own node, so for a small % of your rewards we will host it for you.

Me: That is incredible. What about fees for these other coins?

Scott: As long as the other coins like Bitcoin stay within the Halo Platform, there are no fees. Not only that, the transaction speed of these coins, will enjoy the same speed as the Halo Platform as they are ‘wrapped’ by Halo.

That’s it for Part I. In Part II we discuss more about the individual components of Halo Platform.

For more information about the Halo Platform, see the following links below:

Website: https://www.haloplatform.tech

Telegram: https://t.me/haloplatform

Discord: https://discordapp.com/invite/PmveA6A

Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/haloplatform/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/halo_platform

Disclaimer: This article is based purely on my opinion. I do not endorse any of the companies or branding that I write about. I use them for demonstration purposes only, to make a point or as an example. This is not financial or any other form of advice. Always do your own research.

--

--

john kenny

25 years in IT with a passion for cryptocurrency, blockchain and all things decentralized.