A Little Blue Dot in a Sunbeam

John Gotts
2 min readMar 2, 2019

--

The photo from Voyager tells the story of how small we really are.

This photo was taken by the Voyager spacecraft as it was leaving our solar system. NASA had the spacecraft turn its camera around and took this photo of the earth. When they first observed the image they first thought that earth couldn’t be seen and that the blue dot was a speck of dust on the image, but there it is, so small you cannot see the moon, so far away that you cannot see the humans who inhabit this tiny little dot, as it it seems to float in the rays of the sun.

This is where we live and where we die. This is where we take on challenges and fight each for an extra inch. This is the insignificance that we truly have in our universe. Compared to the amount of time the universe has been around and the vastness of space, our own lives, even if we could live to see two hundred years or more, is a blink of time on a tiny, infinitesimal planet.

I see this image and I realize how lucky I am to exist at all and I want to enjoy each day I’m here and the time I have with my family and friends.

John Wright Gotts, JohnGotts.com, AngelTrades.co #johngotts

John Gotts on CrunchBase

John Gotts on Facebook

John Gotts on LinkedIn

John Gotts on Twitterjohn

John Wright Gotts on Twitter

--

--