Calling Undecided Voters

John Green
2 min readNov 4, 2016

--

In 2012, I called hundreds of undecided voters in swing states to encourage them to head to the polls and vote. It was very helpful to me to hear from undecided voters and discuss the issues that are important to them. With the U.S. Presidential election just days away, I’m hoping to again talk to genuinely undecided voters about this election and the future of the U.S.

I want to be clear: I’m going to try to persuade you toward my point of view. I feel very strongly that Donald Trump’s proposed policies would be disastrous for the U.S. both at home and abroad. But I am willing to listen to your concerns, and I understand that this is a difficult choice for many people.

I realize I can’t help most undecided voters make up their mind this election cycle. But I would welcome the opportunity to talk to those of you who feel that talking it through with me could be helpful. So: If you’re planning to vote but truly haven’t decided who will get your Presidential vote, or if you’re registered but unsure you’ll actually go, and you feel like hearing from me might help, please email me at sparksflyup -at- gmail-dot-com with UNDECIDED in the subject line. Please also include the following information:

  1. Specifically why you’re undecided, and what candidates you’re considering.
  2. Your phone number.
  3. Your state.
  4. Your first name.

I probably won’t be able to call the vast majority of you, but I’ll try to call as many of you as I can with help from YouTuber Henry Reich, who joined me in making calls in 2012.

If you would like to help call undecided voters, your state’s campaign office will have more information about how you can help phone bank, or you can start here for Democratic candidates and here for Republican ones.

--

--

John Green

I write books, including Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars. (Books are like tweets, except longer.) I also make videos with my brother.