[Music Discovery] An Exploration of the Lo-Fi Aesthetic

John Greenfield
6 min readSep 25, 2018
lofi hip hop radio — beats to relax/study to from YouTube

Over the past 12 months, I’ve become increasingly obsessed with a style of music often referred to as Lo-Fi. I’m not alone either, as there seems to be no shortage of internet denizens who are finding themselves drawn to the heavily sampled chilled out delights of chillhop. It’s started with the discovery of a growing YouTube trend of chillhop/lo-fi radio feeds, and from there it’s grown into something that I can honestly call an obsession.

I’ve been wanting to do a post that explores Lo-Fi, it’s roots and what its become today for some time now and was surprised to see that there wasn’t really much out there on this topic. I know nothing of music theory, I can’t play any instruments and I have zero journalistic or musical training, so I strongly encourage you to do your own research on anything I discuss. With all that in mind, let’s go on a musical journey of discovery. If you’re looking for a little musical accompaniment, might I recommend one of my favourite YouTube feeds included below.

What is Lo-Fi?

A suitcase record player

Lo-fi comes from the term “low fidelity”, which in its simplest terms is the opposite of Hi-Fi or “high fidelity”…

--

--