“Hug Nation Does The Work on BK” (Look close)

I met Byron Katie…is that true?

John Halcyon Styn
4 min readMar 4, 2015

--

I love Byron Katie. If you are not familiar with that name, my fawning may be hard to understand. But for those that know, she is a special being. Her teachings changed my life. She has relieved the suffering of hundreds of thousands of people with her technique, The Work.

I have struggled with anxiety and depression for years, but finally collected enough of a spiritual toolbox to get it under control. A number of the tools I use are things I learned from Byron Katie. Whenever someone comes to me for advice, I usually include, “…and go watch videos of Byron Katie on YouTube.”

So when I was on the fence about attending Wisdom 2.0 last year in 2014, her name on the website swayed me to a “YES.”

Alas, I got a harsh lesson in “Loving what is.”

A year later, I decided to return to Wisdom 2.0 — no matter who was speaking. I had learned that the vibe was so in alignment with my passions that I knew I would find it valuable.

Lucky for me (and everyone there), Katie did come and speak this year. I was in the front row for her first talk, then went to see her perform The Work at a breakout session.

Were my expectations too high?

She was fantastic. And after learning a few lessons in non-attachment, AGAIN, I got to meet her. I got my photo. I got my hug. Life was sweet.

Then it got better.

Last night I got an email with the subject, “From Byron Katie’s husband.”

Her husband is Stephen Mitchell, a respected writer who collaborated with Katie on the amazing “A Thousand Names for Joy.”

The email opened with,

“Dear John, I just happened upon your youtube video at (1st one above)and played it for Katie. She was delighted, and is going to post it on thework.com with this note: “Nice to meet you, John. And thank you for realizing what really matters.”

WOW. Katie and Stephen watched a Hug Nation. Wow. I couldn’t stop smiling. I called my girlfriend and woke her up — I had to “share the happy” with her. (She was glad I did.)

I didn’t know how to respond in email. I wanted to share so much. But I didn’t want to be a nuisance. I sent some enthusiastic (but brief) appreciation for them both and a link to my “Meeting Katie” video from 2015 (2nd video above).

I signed it, “Love, John.”

Now, I should mention that I had a fantasy a few years ago of inviting my spiritual heroes to Burning Man. I wanted to invite Eckhart and Oprah and Michael Beckwith and Byron Katie. Like the little drummer boy, I have nothing worthy to offer them. But I do have the ability to gift them an experience that they could not get on their own. I’m sure they could get tickets to Burning Man. But I would be able to welcome them into Pink Heart, The Pink Ride, and give an instant connection to everything I’ve helped build over 17 years of heart-focussed Burning Man participation. I wrote out the invite…but I never sent it.

So before I hit “reply” last night, I knew I had to ask.

p.s. Do you and Katie have any interest in experiencing the Burning Man art festival/temporary city? Fly in, spend a couple days in an RV with my camp (Pink Heart). I would love to help gift that experience to you if you have any desire.
If you are unfamiliar with Burning Man, I made a 20 min short film about it: http://thepinkpath.hugnation.com/

I figured most people have *some* interest in Burning Man. And if you watch The Pink Path can get a glimpse of me and the Pink Heart camp experience. It would either resonate or it wouldn’t. I felt fulfilled that the situation came up so I could ask.

Their prompt reply was perfect.

Thanks, John. So sweet of you. Katie says that she loved your invitation, and the moment she knows to accept it, I’ll let you know.

Reality is always perfect…but sometimes it’s even better.

BONUS: Her talk on Saturday:

Postscript: For any Burners who take issue with my “come for 2 days and check it out” invitation, I would caution you to chill out. Byron Katie *is* a gift. I trust that she would act in whatever way was in alignment with her truth. I bet she would be serving ice cream along with the rest of Pink Heart after a morning art car sculpture tour. Or not. No mistakes.
I gave my mom a similar invite last year and she participated and enjoyed it deeply.

--

--