John Inzerillo
2 min readMay 11, 2022

Peace

John Lennon wrote, “Give Peace a Chance,” in 1969 to as a protest against the Vietnam War. The world, now bombarded by the gruesome stories from the Ukraine, is again in the midst of great angust, right on the tail of the previously unimaginable results of the most destructive pandemic the world has even seen. The loss of over six million people, many still in the prime of their lives, have succumbed to the menacing and deadly effects of a virus.

The mental health effects of COVID-19 have seen four in ten adults in the U.S. report anxiety and depression to be a direct effect of the virus. One third have difficulty sleeping, and eating. Alcohol and substance abuse has been reported by 12%, as well as a worsening of chronic conditions.

Young adults report symptoms of depression as high as a 56% increase. Suicidal thoughts among this group have doubled to 26%. These numbers reflect the loss of income, the unavailability of attending college classes in the usual manner, and of course, the loss of significant others.

These are very heavy issues, such that much of the time it feels as if there is no escape. I have recently been discovering that the best relief comes at times that I cannot predict. After many months of prayer and self-exploration I am having moments of peace that completely erase all of my concerns. It may happen for a few moments while I am getting ready for work. There have been times, more frequent recently, while working on the computer at work a blanket of peace will overcome me. I keep working and am learning how to appreciate this state of mind. So hopeful and refreshing it is that I yean to seek it more and more. It is like I would imagine sitting in the quiet space in the center of a storm. The more it happens the more hope I see that one day it may fill the majority of my time.

Yes, there are troubles all around. People have to endure the unimaginable, but with intention and a willingness to seek peace, it can be found when least expected.