John Jenkins
2 min readSep 2, 2022

Bitter Beer Face

There is a common misconception that Benjamin Franklin said once uttered the following phrase...

“Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy”

Although the quote may be historically inaccurate, I can't argue with the intrinsic relationship between an ice cold mug of suds and having a good time. That being said, if you stay in the game long enough, you're bound to encounter a bottle or two of skunky brew; the byproduct of which is the dreaded "Bitter Beer Face".

Bitter Beer Face was popularized back in the mid 1990's by an advertising campaign for Keystone Light. What's funny to me, is that almost 30 years later, this phenomenon still exists, but it's not limited to only the inebriated masses, but has apparently spread to the general public as well.

There's no denying that the world we live in today is custom made to make one angry, deflate one's spirit, a turn otherwise well meaning folks into completely crazy "Karens". When I'm out and about, I see hoards of humanity wearing permanent scowls on their faces. It's sad really, because if you look close enough, there's still so much beauty all around us. If we would all just take a second to step back and count our blessings, I'm sure we could all glean a bit of goodness from our surroundings, and find at least one reason to turn our frowns upside down.

1 Thessalonians 5:16 implores us to do the following...

"Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus"

So the next time you're feeling down and wearing a permanent frown, please try to remember that there is something to be happy about, and leave the bitter beer face to professionals like me😉

Be Well My Friends,

JJ

John Jenkins

I'm John Jenkins, a writer from Ohio. I sincerely hope that you'll find my work entertaining, enlightening and inspiring.