Always remember to fill the Jar with Spice Drops.

JJMP
6 min readJul 20, 2023

Oh, the Spice Drops Jar! What a trip. A nuisance at times, but such a metaphor for life, and that’s what’s so important as I look back now. Pop loved these spice drops. At the end, when his world was getting smaller, and the amount of things within his control were near nil, we always had this jar. And we talked about it each visit. A centerpiece on the family table, and of life, if you will. I honestly don’t know where this thing came from, I don’t remember it from childhood, or adulthood for that matter. But here it is now. And it’s near empty. I need to fill this thing.

At the end of your life, your time gets reduced to strange things. Things that don’t seem important to most of us, but are huge to those near the end. I reflect on those now. Our time together at the end became reduced to “here is my Kroger list for the day.” A scribbled sheet of paper which I needed an explanation for each item. And they were all very particular. 2 not 3 bananas, and make sure they are green. I don’t want brown bananas. 1 lb of hamburger meat, wait, no 2 lbs, and make sure they are 80/20 lean to fat, not the 90/10 stuff. 2 sweet potatoes, and a 5 lb bag of russets too. Really? That’s like 20 potatoes? You going to eat all of that? Yes? Ok. Here you go. On the way out, or sometime before I raced away to complete the task, “don’t forget the Spice Drops this time!” They didn’t have them last time Pop. I’ll have to try another store. “Ok, do that. Thanks.” Sometimes I’d get a thank you after the order was given. Sometimes not. When the mind…

--

--

JJMP

Husband, father, son, brother, uncle, colleague and friend. Thank you for sharing experiences, knowledge and wisdom with us. I will do my best to do the same.