CS373 SPRING 2022: John Mackie

John P Mackie
2 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

I have not been up to much in my classes as of late. I am excited to get the project groups and start on the website. I mostly watched tv and hung out, when I was not working on school stuff.

What’s in your way?

I have a cloud computing assignment and I have never shared information between more than 2 computers at once. I think I might need to multithread, but I don’t know so I need to figure that out.

What will you do next week?

Another cloud computing project. Try to have a meeting with the SWE groups we will get this week. Go to the park. Try to convince myself to get into an exercise schedule again.

What did you think of Paper #4: Pair Programming?

I had read this before for other classes at least 4 or 5 times by now. It is good info on an interesting topic, but I have heard it all before so it was super boring.

What was your experience of exceptions and types? (this question will vary, week to week)

This was good information. I have not used exceptions working with python before and I did not know how python had the -5, 256 int trick. I don’t think I’ll use the int thing, but it was cool. I will, however, definitely use the exception content.

What made you happy this week?

I made some hummus and it was really good. It had the perfect amount of garlic spice. If you have it with a fizzy drink it’s like a party in your mouth. Also I have HBO right now and the two shows I’m staying current on have episodes coming out tonight: Euphoria, The Righteous Gemstones.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Even if you don’t start a project early, always look at the actual assignment info as early as possible so you get an idea of how much time it will take you when you actually do it. After looking at instructions I usually start on it immediately because I got in the “mind-set” to work on it, or I know exactly how long I can procrastinate for.

--

--