11 reasons why life in the 70’s and 80’s was better than today.

Educating the kids on all they missed out on.

John Markowski
5 min readDec 16, 2016

My 13 year old daughter and 17 year old son have it all figured out. They’ve told me as much themselves. Because of that, I take every opportunity to knock them down a peg whenever I can.

Parenting 101.

I don’t build up their self-esteem as much as I manage it. And when I say manage I mean a constant reminder that their shit does in fact stink from time to time.

Parenting 102

The other day I made the egregious mistake of allowing the kids to overhear me telling my wife “Yes, hon, I did ‘tape’ Real Housewives of Beverly Hills”.

“Taped?” they asked. “On what, like an old VCR tape? What are you like 47 years old?”

Fuck right I am you little bastards.

After the tongue lashing they received for disrespecting an elder, I ran off a list of “You think you have it great now in 2019? You should have seen how frickin awesome we had it back in 1982. I almost feel sorry for you “whatever you too young to be a milennial have been categorized as.”

Here is that list:

Old school sliding cable box

--

--

John Markowski

Author of "Seed, Grow, Love, Write", available on Amazon now. Blog as "The Obsessive Neurotic Gardener". Write on Medium about whatever floats me boat.