YOU FAILED…

John Morgan
2 min readAug 4, 2023

My teenage children pushed me to the limit, or I pushed myself, and I ended up alone on the beach wading through a lifetime of memories… these words appeared when boarding school was reached on the timeline… did Mr Tragedy (our old headmaster… and our nickname for him) have a psychopathic wife who beat him to within an inch of his life….?

You thought that it would fix me

Beat me into shape

“This one’s defective”

And defects we hate…

“I know I’m doing the right thing”

You never stopped to think

And even if you did

Your brain was made of tin

There are no scars left

At least none you can see

But underneath the healed skin

There’s still catastrophe

«Animals we’re not»

Civilised you say

“We’ve tamed our base self”

By going to church on Sunday

That den of iniquity

Which makes you feel so good

About beating helpless children

And burning women

Yes you did…!

--

--

John Morgan

I am a singer songwriter and single parent to two very lively children. I write on medium about what inspires me and, hopefuly, others.