It’s Time to Talk about Freedom of Space (And Why Black People Don’t Have It)

White people’s false entitlement to Black spaces comes from two historical artifacts: European Colonialism, and American Slavery.

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

--

Martin Luther King March, Anacostia, Washington D.C. 2017. Photography Credit: Johnny Silvercloud

A while back ago I write about the Six Freedoms Black people do not have in a White Supremacy. I don’t remember what catastrophic event took place which lead me to write that article (because there’s so many), but I do know the fact that I was really spilling my mind and soul out on powers that persistently infringe on the rights of Black people in the United States of America. Brainstorming, I concluded that there are six freedoms we as Black people do not have. They are:

  • Freedom of Memory
  • Freedom of Emotion
  • Freedom of Space
  • Freedom of Recovery
  • Freedom of Self-Defense
  • The Freedom to Protect the Other Five

When I first wrote this in 2018 I really was just spilling my heart and brains out on the pen pad. While I kinda dove deep into every freedom our society fails to provide us, I genuinely think the Freedom of Space isn’t explored that much. The Freedom of Emotion and how we don’t have it, is explored deeply within the…

--

--

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

20 yr U.S. Army vet turned analytical street photographer who talks about power, protest, and politics. Do not defend racism or sexism when I’m in the room.