Making a Bean Burger Romaine Sandwich

John Rehg
3 min readOct 17, 2021

A vegan combination without bread — Sunday Night Savorings

Two bean burgers on romaine lettuce on a plate
Photo by John Rehg

A common burger replacement for the vegan crowd is the bean burger. The burger consists mostly of black beans, binders, and spices to mimic a meat burger, at least to some degree. My guess is you can find literally hundreds of recipes on the Internet for these bean burgers.

I decided to take several of these recipes and come up with my own. Experimentation and discovery are the joys you get when combining foods to make a meal.

Ingredients

My typical ingredient list for a bean burger includes some or all of the following:

  • black beans
    garbanzo beans (optional, I’ve tried Pinto beans, meh)
    dates, pitted and chopped or blended
    ground flax seed
    onions, diced (or onion powder)
    garlic, minced (or garlic powder)

Other spices, depending on my mood:
You can experiment with any spice that you like.
crushed rosemary
oregano
cayenne pepper
turmeric and black pepper
ground cumin (regular or black)
fenugreek

water as needed
dry oatmeal flakes as needed

Preparation

I used to put the beans in a bowl and mash them with a large spoon. Now I throw them in a blender for a couple of seconds and get a…

--

--

John Rehg

Author, publisher, and software developer. I love to write about food, health, spirituality, humor, tech, and travel. I share insights I’ve learned in life.