Showcasing London Undergrowth: Laura Dudek’s learning journey

John Ridpath
The London Undergrowth
3 min readJul 18, 2022

Laura’s learning question:

How might Doughnut Economic theories and principles inspire new ways of co-existence in my local community?

Laura Dudek headshot

My experience:

What I wanted, above all else in this learning journey, was to connect with a group of people who are motivated by similar interests, values, and ambitions. Particularly, the desire to challenge the status quo and spark meaningful change in our local communities. I feel like I found that in the London Undergrowth chapter.

The Doughnut Economics message is rooted in connection, generosity, and responsibility to both people and planet. Engaging with the book through a group helped me not only deepen my understanding through a shared learning experience, but also challenged me to put theories into practice. Had it not been for the support and structure of the group I don’t think I would have incorporated learnings quite so significantly.

Nature connection and peer poetry (London Undergrowth Urban Nature Day, 7th May 2022)

The chapters of Doughnut Economics that felt most relevant to my learning question:

Three things I learned:

  1. Change is hard! And it can be slow. But small, consistent steps have the ability to inspire change in ways beyond our knowing.
  2. The thought of confronting a topic as big as mainstream economics seems beyond a single person’s ability. But the challenge is not meant to be embarked on alone, nor solved with a single action.
  3. Change is a process and adherence to sustainable principles and practices, such as those outlines by Kate, can help us become an example to those around us.
Systems thinking canvas (Suz’s workshop, 10th March 2022)

A project I’m working on:

I began a project during this learning journey that aims to represent the dreams and aspirations that Harlesden residents have for their community.

The project consists of two parts:

  1. A database of stories and conversations where residents share their visions for a regenerative future, inspired by principles from DE.
  2. A series of speculative artifacts that represent these shared visions. Artifacts will be distributed throughout the community as public art works/interventions to stoke conversation and reflection on desirable futures for the area.

Research:

I connected with 7 residents in my area. I aimed to speak with people who have diverse histories and relationships to the area, as well as lifestyles and demographics.

Semi-structured interviews:

  • I introduced people to the project and DE aims.
  • I asked interviewees a series of questions about the their aspirations
  • I recorded responses
  • I scanned responses for themes and extracted insights

Ethnographic inquiry :

  • I observed people in their homes and places of work to see learn more about their day-to-day

Experience Prototyping

  • I developed prototypes of designed artifact(s) that would enable the project goals.
  • I ran these prototypes by my interviewees and got feedback
  • Feedback indicated that provocative, physical object that had some sort of “interactive learn more” option, like a QR code, would be good.
Experience prototyping in Harlesden

Design

I am just beginning the design phase and plan to share project outcomes in September.

A question I’m leaving with:

How can we make ideas about change more actionable and sustainable in my local community?

Get in touch with Laura:

laura-dudek.com
@lvdudek
LinkedIn

--

--