How can we solve World Hunger?

John Watts
3 min readJun 14, 2024

I thought today we could discuss the problem of world hunger and how to solve it. Actually as it goes, yesterday I was sitting at my desk trying to produce some halfway decent prose on some ad hoc subject and I quite failed, then today I remembered I had written this piece. As it goes verse comes a bit more naturally for me, and I find involving characters in my writing can help me quite a bit to actually write- now I wrote this not yesterday but a little while ago, and I thought, wonderful, I can use this platform for pieces like this. I think the conversation needs to be had, how can we solve world hunger?

Let us remember Job 29:16 ‘I was a father to the needy and I took up the case of the stranger.’ This verse is quite the stand out, because it implies anyone who is really just and righteous will frequently have the poor and needy in mind- alas surely that is so often so far from the case for the lot of us!

I believe Tim Kellar said we shouldn’t just want to give to the poor, but think how can we permanently make their lot better.

I am happy to share the discussion of Justin and Julian on this:

Justin and Julian: World Hunger

Justin: Can’t all the billionaires put their heads together

and figure out how to end all world hunger

Julian: They could do chap, but it’s no use depending

on what the world’s richest men are rendering,

--

--

John Watts

I live in the UK, West Sussex, studied English Literature at Kingston University, my interests include poetry and theology.