Should I Be Concerned About the Dream Guy in My Head?

My revelation with my white dream boy and why we should take a careful look at the dream guys we manifest.

Arniecea Arnay
8 min readDec 13, 2018
Photo by JoelValve on Unsplash

We all have that dream guy in our heads (or girl, whatever floats your boat). That one that follows us everywhere. You crush on him when there is no one to crush on. He is everything you want him to be when you want him to be it. You make up random scenarios of falling in love with this dream guy — having over 100 ways you guys have met and 100 more of how your romance blossoms. He understands you in ways that only you understand you because…well…this dream guy is a projection of yourself. In and out of relationships, crushes come and go, but he’s still there, lingering. He will always be there, as beautifully hazy and unreachable as a dream ever really is.

This dream guy is someone you are not…after all, isn’t that what we’re always looking for? Someone to save us from the doom within. Someone to balance us, to be our opposites, to strike within us an electric love and lust that does not dwindle over time, or burn out fast, but bends into an anchoring, sustaining, and deeply-felt love. Whatever dream guy you’ve dreamed up…there’s something he’s fulfilling that no one else is, am I right?

--

--

Arniecea Arnay

I'm a writer (well trying). I breathe literature, music, and film. Currently working on a novel I'll never finish. I am and forever will be a project.