Starting my journey into becoming a DevOps/Cloud Engineer

Johnson Chidera
2 min readDec 17, 2023

--

I am documenting my process and weekly progress as I transition into being a DevOps/Cloud engineer.

Photo by Clemens van Lay on Unsplash

First of all, a little intro — My name is Chidera Johnson. I am a front-end developer and technical writer. My previously written articles can be found here.

I am not a very consistent person so I wanted to try an approach of writing what I learned about each week, the resources I used, and my failures as I navigate the waters of becoming a cloud engineer. I am also documenting my journey so that I have some sort of accountability and also see my progress.

I am following a curriculum I saw someone post on Twitter. The Github link can be found here. It is very detailed if you need a guide on where to start. Another step-by-step resource I found is by roadmap.sh.

As I am starting this journey, it is important to note that I have no prior experience in using any Cloud service(I’ll be learning Azure), Golang and Linux.

I took the Azure fundamentals exam earlier this year and passed. Aiming to pass the Azure developer associate by Q2 of 2024 🤞🏽

Progress this week

I finished the first DevOps prerequisite course, learnt a lot about Linux commands, Linux package managers, Oracle’s virtual box and vagrant (although I couldn’t get CentOS running on my Mac. Doesn’t work with M1 chip), networking, YAML files, and IP addresses.

I started an introduction to Linux course. I haven’t gone too far but I am hoping to finish it in a couple of days.

OS Contributions I made this week

I’ll be making contributions to the pieces app. It’s not DevOps/Cloud related, just something I feel like contributing to.

--

--

Johnson Chidera

A front end developer. My weekly journal into Cloud computing. Plus other stuff i might do along the way :)