The Top Notch Interview

John Taylor Hiskey
5 min readOct 6, 2021

--

Photo taken by Brennan Peirson

Top Notch is an online comedian who has been making a name for himself through social media websites such as YouTube and most importantly, through his Instagram account, which has been garnishing him over thousands of active followers who love to watch and be entertained by his skits. Top Notch is from and still currently lives in Pittsburgh, and within the past year he has been on top of his game. After seeing the waves he is currently setting, I had the opportunity to sit down and talk with him about his life, achievements, and the future of his career.

Photo taken by Brennan Peirson

You are from Pittsburgh, PA. What was being born and raised there like for you? Does Pittsburgh have a good comedy scene?

Pittsburgh is a awesome city to grow up in. It’s a big melting pot of all cultures. From sports to legendary musicians like Mac miller and Wiz Khalifa. Pittsburgh is definitely a city that keeps you on your toes. Iv done construction my whole life so I got to experience a lot of the amazing cultures here and it feels good to literally help build your city up.

The comedy scene is definitely growing in Pittsburgh.

What is your most favorite thing about being a comedian?

Just making a simple idea from scratch and turning it into something for people to enjoy and laugh at.

Who were some of your favorite comedians you grew up idolizing when you were younger?

Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill, Will Ferrell, Rodney Dangerfield. The energy they all give off on and off screen is amazing and all Iconic.

When you did you first stand up gig, what was that experience like?

Stand up comedy is still on the bucket list for Top Notch. I have ran Instagram live streaming chat room pushing 10k viewers . So controlling a 100 200 person comedy venue. I feel I would rock that shit.

How do you come up with skits and your own jokes? What is that process like?

personal life experiences are always the best for material. When ever I put out a skit. Right away I’m like this is the dumbest shit ever. And that skit will be the one everyone loves or can relate to.

What is the hardest part of doing what you do?

I don’t know if there is a hardest part for me. Its really all part of the grind. If I would say anything its keeping the fans smiling and laughing.

You are starting to grow your following using platforms such as YouTube. What is your creative process like when you are making your videos?

YouTube is definitely a platform you can find all my comedy. I recently joined TikTok and iv taking one of my hobbies fishing and turned it into a page pushing over 5 million views. I have been able to branch my comedy over to my fishing channel that is growing my following by the day . I love filming, comedy & fishing and I was able to mash it all together and make a big pot of greatness. I also been doing interviews for the past couple months reaching out and meeting someone amazing entertainers and seeing what gives them that drive to make movies, music, art, .Iv gotten to know the guys who made my favorite movies growing up. It’s a amazing experience that If I didnt push my self everyday. I would not get to enjoy this movement.

Do you have any comedy shows coming up?

Comedy clubs are opening back up. So only time will tell.

Do you ever see yourself going on tour opening up for musical artist?

Yesss!!!! To be a comedy hype man and get the crowd laughing, vibing before the music performance. Goals.

If you could go on tour with one talented act, who may that be?

Seth Rogen

Do you think that the comedy world is evolving now days with social media and such? If so, where do you think the comedy world will be in the future?

TikTok has taking the comedy game over for the younger generation. As for comedy and skits like mine are to spicy for there platform. Just like many artists and comedians we try to push are content though Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube

Do you have any dream venues you would like to perform a stand up gig at?

Not sure if RedRock does comedian venues but definitely I think that would be a amazing experience.

Photo taken by Brennan Peirson

For anyone who may be reading this right now, what is your best advice for someone who wants to be a comedian just like you?

Don’t give up. It will get rough. This shit is not easy. Mentally physically it can be draining. You will always have more people that want to see you fail then win. And that is your drive. When they say you can’t or it’s not possible. That’s your job to show them anything you put your mind to is possible. Don’t give up on yourself and you will be amazed at the things you can do.

What is next for Top Notch? What can we expect from Top Notch in the near future?

Movies.. I’ve been writing movies for the past 2 years. Last year I wrote my 1st movie called SandBox. The experience was amazing writing a movie from scratch thinking of all the plots and characters. Now I’m working on 5 different genres of movies and it’s only to the Top for TopNotch.

--

--

John Taylor Hiskey

Covering the entertainment industry since 2017. From attending events, to conducting interviews, and putting out reviews.. these are my stories.