Pauley Pavilion

John W Snyder
4 min readSep 5, 2019

--

What basketball arena is you favorite ever to step foot in?

Last month I did a post on Oklahoma State’s basketball arena, Gallagher-Iba Arena. This month I want to do a post on my next favorite arena. This might be because I live here in Southern California or because I have been to Pauley Pavilion many times, but either way this place is amazing. There is so much history in this place. Much more than in Gallagher-Iba Arena.

I remember going to my first UCLA game at Pauley close to 15 years ago. It was UCLA vs. Cal State Fullerton. The game wasn’t even close. UCLA had no problem imposing their will against the inferior Titans. At this time Gallagher-Iba was the most historic arena I had ever stepped foot in. This all changed. Pauley is an amazing place with more history than one can imagine.

As I was sitting in my seat at half court above the student section across from the benches I just soaked it all in. I totally tuned out the game and looked around. So many amazing players came through there, whether they played at UCLA or against UCLA, Pauley has seen some amazing talent over the many years it has been in existence.

But the best part of the evening was looking across the court and seeing John Wooden sitting behind the UCLA bench in his seats.

The best college basketball coach ever.

Sitting there.

Enjoying basketball.

Taking it all in just like I was. Only in very different ways.

John Wooden is my favorite coach of all time and Pauley Pavilion might just be my favorite arena. Over the next year Pauley Pavilion will be going through a major renovation. They have set up this website called Campaign of Champions.

This video about Pauley Pavilion opens and closes with Coach Wooden. It gives me goose bumps. Please watch the whole thing and you will understand how awesome a place Pauley Pavilion is.

What basketball arena is you favorite ever to step foot in?

Last month I did a post on Oklahoma State’s basketball arena, Gallagher-Iba Arena. This month I want to do a post on my next favorite arena. This might be because I live here in Southern California or because I have been to Pauley Pavilion many times, but either way this place is amazing. There is so much history in this place. Much more than in Gallagher-Iba Arena.

I remember going to my first UCLA game at Pauley over 5 years ago. It was UCLA vs. Cal State Fullerton. The game wasn’t even close. UCLA had no problem imposing their will against the inferior Titans. At this time Gallagher-Iba was the most historic arena I had ever stepped foot in. This all changed. Pauley is an amazing place with more history than one can imagine.

As I was sitting in my seat at half court above the student section across from the benches I just soaked it all in. I totally tuned out the game and looked around. So many amazing players came through there, whether they played at UCLA or against UCLA, Pauley has seen some amazing talent over the many years it has been in existence.

But the best part of the evening was looking across the court and seeing John Wooden sitting behind the UCLA bench in his seats.

The best college basketball coach ever.

Sitting there.

Enjoying basketball.

Taking it all in just like I was. Only in very different ways.

John Wooden is my favorite coach of all time and Pauley Pavilion might just be my favorite arena. Over the next year Pauley Pavilion will be going through a major renovation. They have set up this website called Campaign of Champions.

This video about Pauley Pavilion opens and closes with Coach Wooden. It gives me goose bumps. Please watch the whole thing and you will understand how awesome a place Pauley Pavilion is

What basketball arena is you favorite ever to step foot in?

Last month I did a post on Oklahoma State’s basketball arena, Gallagher-Iba Arena. This month I want to do a post on my next favorite arena. This might be because I live here in Southern California or because I have been to Pauley Pavilion many times, but either way this place is amazing. There is so much history in this place. Much more than in Gallagher-Iba Arena.

I remember going to my first UCLA game at Pauley over 5 years ago. It was UCLA vs. Cal State Fullerton. The game wasn’t even close. UCLA had no problem imposing their will against the inferior Titans. At this time Gallagher-Iba was the most historic arena I had ever stepped foot in. This all changed. Pauley is an amazing place with more history than one can imagine.

As I was sitting in my seat at half court above the student section across from the benches I just soaked it all in. I totally tuned out the game and looked around. So many amazing players came through there, whether they played at UCLA or against UCLA, Pauley has seen some amazing talent over the many years it has been in existence.

But the best part of the evening was looking across the court and seeing John Wooden sitting behind the UCLA bench in his seats.

The best college basketball coach ever.

Sitting there.

Enjoying basketball.

Taking it all in just like I was. Only in very different ways.

John Wooden is my favorite coach of all time and Pauley Pavilion might just be my favorite arena. Over the next year Pauley Pavilion will be going through a major renovation. They have set up this website called Campaign of Champions.

This video about Pauley Pavilion opens and closes with Coach Wooden. It gives me goose bumps. Please watch the whole thing and you will understand how awesome a place Pauley Pavilion is

--

--

John W Snyder

Writing about fearlessness, giving it your all, social media, and life's adventures. Join me on the journey.